Enzo Mari Apple Print

12Aug11

Forget about eating an apple a day, all you need is one giant apple print on your wall to feel great every time you walk by! I have been in love with this Enzo Mari “La Mela” print (1963) ever since I saw it in the kitchen of Sarah Jessica Parker’s Beach house in the Hamptons (not physically, of course, but in the picture below). The iconic Italian designer, now in his 70s, is a colourful character who is infamous in the design world for his fits of rage, especially around his clients.

Photo from Elle Decor.

I have just discovered Mari’s print again in another celebrity home. No wonder the price keeps rising, grrrr! The second picture is Hank Azaria’s playroom in L.A.  I’m used to seeing it in a white frame so Hank’s version really stood out for me. I think the honey-coloured wood against the pale grey wall (my favourite) gives it more of a retro school-house feel that ties in with the period the print was designed. It looks even more fabulous with Azaria’s rustic Danish farm table and 18th Century wooden benches from France. I would definitely not have minded doing my maths homework in this bright and cozy space!

Photo from Architectural Digest.

No Responses Yet to “Enzo Mari Apple Print”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

